Confidence Never Goes Out of Style

I hear this excuse from my friends all the time. “I love this! But there is no way I can pull it off. I can’t.” I used to think the same thing too. Until I just experimented with something I had never worn before and decided to act like I wore it everyday. My sophomore year of college was the first time I ever wore lipstick. And I didn’t start with a light pink color or something pale and subdued to ease myself in. I started off with a deep crimson to take my lipstick virginity like it was the last day I would ever live. So I put it on and wore it like I didn’t even have it on to a party at my friends apartment. I can’t even count how many compliments I got and how many times I heard, “I wish I could pull that off.” The funny thing to me was that there was no “pulling it off” about it for me. I was sure I looked like Chucky with it on but I refused to let people think I felt that way. I was really just wearing something and resolved to not give a crap what everyone thought or said. So after that day, I bought all the lipsticks from all the stores (exaggeration of course). But I kept wearing them.

I even tried out other weird trends too. Recently, I found out that Vans has a new line of ASPCA shoes, or the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. Aka they have shoes with cat faces all over them or dog faces all over them. So naturally I thought the ones with the cats were the coolest thing I had ever seen and had to own them. Even though its hard for me to fathom, I know that not everyone is as big of a cat lover as I am so I knew there would be some back lash to me wearing them in public with my friends. But I said, screw you guys, I think they are awesome and they make me happy. So I wear them with the pride and swagger that cat shoes are meant to be worn with.IMG_8814

My point with all of this is, life is too short to not wear what you love, regardless of what anyone else says or thinks. Thats the beautiful thing about confidence, it goes with every outfit, and most times, makes the outfit. You can pull off that huge floppy hat or spiked, studded stilettos; as long as you really love them and wear it with a ferocity that would make Beyoncé cower as you walked by. Also, know your confidence comes from your confidence in our savior, Jesus. When we are being fully satisfied in Him, no one can touch us. So find your confidence in the Lord and wear it everyday!

XO,

Blog Sign-off

You’re welcome.

One comment

  1. jennahassell16 · October 22, 2014

    Reblogged this on You're Welcome.

Leave a Reply

